top of page
  • iStanGolf

Results Sat 20 Sun 21 May 2023

Stanthorpe golfers completed their club championships with the third and fourth rounds being played on Saturday 20 and Sunday 21 of May. In conjunction, an individual stroke event was played on both days.

Saturday’s event was sponsored by Chris Fittock Plumbing and Gas and we thank Chris for the day. Men’s winner was Eric Ree after he returned the best nett score of 75 on the day. Danny Folkers was one shot adrift on nett 76 for runner up. Although the scores seem marginally high, there were some tricky pin positions which kept the attention of most players. Marie Cook was the winner of the ladies’ event, her score of nett 76 was one better than Lisa Stuart on nett 77 for runner up.

Sunday’s event was played under rather difficult conditions, what started as a fine sunny morning soon turned into a cloudy and at times very windy day. Sponsor’s for Sunday’s event were Alan Kerr and Dale Minchenton and we also thank them for the day. Men’s winner was recently endorsed club captain, Brad Silver, with a nett 72 for the round. Runner up went to Barry Hughes also with a good round, nett 73 for the day. Nikki Waterworth had the best of the ladies with a very good score of nett 75 to win the ladies’ section. Runner up to Helen Jones with a nett 80.

The completion of the day’s event was also the finish of the club’s single championships which was played over four rounds. A special thank you to Greg Carey and Maria Carey for being the sponsors of the club championships, and especially for being present at the end of the competition to hand out prizes to the winners.

There were plenty of winners as the event had three grades in both men’s and ladies’ sections as well as Vets and Junior winners. The ladies’ overall winner for the year is Marie Cook. Nikki Waterworth collected the overall best nett prize. Grade gross score winners went to Lisa Stuart in ‘A’ grade, Lyn Ludlow best in ;B’ grade and Lorraine Evans, best in ‘C’ grade. Vets winner was Helen Jones.

The men’s event finished after some very competitive play by those in contention. In the end, there was only one club champion, that going to Matt Waterworth. It’s not the first time that Matt has won this event but it has been some years since he did win the event. Best nett score after four rounds went to club captain, Brad Silver.

In ‘A’ grade, Brendan Barker had best gross and Matt Penn won the best nett. ‘B’grade gross winner went to Danny Folkers and nett winner to Barry Jones. ‘C’ grade gross winner was Rod Werner and nett winner to Barry Hughes. Vets winner was Scott Constable with Keith Jones collecting the best nett score. The final awards were for the junior players, Hamish Adam having best gross and Andy Burgess having best nett score. Interesting that both these players competed in the ‘A’ grade section of the championships.

The single championships are now complete for the year, all the winners will have their names permanently engraved on plaques and cups for future reference. All club members might start thinking about future club championships through the years with men’s, ladies’ and mixed foursome coming up later in the year.

Next Saturday, 27 May, will be a medley 4BBB stableford event and will be sponsored by club members, Lisa Stuart and David Stuart. Being the end of the month event, there will be a shot gun start at 12 noon. The time sheet is on the board for all players to nominate a spot in the event.

25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sat 13 Apr 2024

Golfers at Stanthorpe played a stroke event on Saturday 13 April, the day sponsored by members Kay Webb, Linda Kelly and Lorraine Evans and we thank them for the day. The course was in good shape and

Results Sat 6 Apr 2024

The first Saturday of the month, April 6, was the monthly medal and putting competition for golfers at Stanthorpe. The day was sponsored by club member, Richard Reardon, and we thank him for the prize

Results Sat 30 Mar 2024

Golfers at Stanthorpe played a 4BBB stableford on Easter Saturday 30 March, the day sponsored by club member, Simon Shannon, and he is thanked for putting on the day. Always a popular event at the clu


bottom of page