• iStanGolf

Results Sat 8 Sun 9 Jul 2020

Last weekend was the completion of the club championships, Sunday’s final round a real test of endurance with the cold and windy conditions which prevailed. Not only the winners are to be congratulated but all who played through the four rounds and completing the final round on Sunday.

Club champion was won by Scott Constable who returned the low round of 75 on Sunday. Scott said that he enjoyed playing in cool windy conditions and the day was certainly cool and windy. In B grade, Ian Harvey claimed the trophy after the lead in this division changed hands several times during the final round. C grade resulted in a win to Max Hunter who never relinquished his hold on the title after playing so well in the second round. Daryl Boekholt managed to claim the Veteran’s title. Andrew Burgess was successful in winning the junior championship.

Overall best nett for the four rounds went to Nathan Stibbard. Other best nets were won by Keith Jones in A grade, Tod Beckett in B grade and Bruce Green in C grade. Leighton Thurston claimed the junior nett title.

For the ladies championships, Rachel Hendry held off the field to claim the ladies’ club championship title and Trish Fittock did likewise to claim the Division 2 best gross. Nett events were awarded to Sandra Ellis in Div 1 and to Sandra Morris in Div 2. Lynette Ludlow had the best nett to win the ladies’ veteran title.

Saturday’s third round was sponsored by club members, Madeline Jarman and Lorraine Evans and we thank them for again sponsoring this day. Men’s winner was Nathan Stibbard with the best nett of 72 on the day. Matt Burgess and Matt Waterworth both returned scores of nett 73, the countback going the way of Matt Burgess. Kay Webb was successful in the ladies’ event with a score of nett 78. Runner up went to Nikki Waterworth with a nett 79. Special mention to Lorraine Evans who actually had the low score for the ladies of nett 77 on the day but as the sponsor, decided to stay out of the prize winners list.

Sunday’s final round was sponsored by Kay Webb, Margie Locke and Linda Kelly and they are also thanked for prizes on the day. Men’s winner was Mick O’Brien who finished with a nett 72 on the day. In runner place was Keith Jones on nett 73. The ladies’ event was won by Lyn Ludlow with nett 75. Runner up after the countback went to Rachael Hendry over Neta Thouard, both on nett 79.

Next major club honour board event will be the foursomes championships for both men and ladies in a couple of weeks time. Now would be a good time to arrange playing partners for this day.

Back to normal golf next weekend with time sheet at the club for a stableford event.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Results Sat 24 Jul 2021

Stanthorpe golfers played an individual stableford event last Saturday and the day belonged to Max Hunter. Not only did Max sponsor the day’s event, he also had the best score of the day returning 40

Results Sat 17 Jul 2021

Stanthorpe golf With the fairways still wet and the cold breeze blowing, only the very hardy took to the fairways for a stroke event last Saturday at Stanthorpe. The day was sponsored by the club’s gr

Results Sat 10 Jul 2021

Scott Constable took the double last Saturday after he returned the lowest gross score to win the Dale Mullen’s trophy and the best nett score to win the July monthly medal. Mark Hendry managed to col