top of page
  • iStanGolf

Results Sat 25 Sun 26 May 2024

Stanthorpe golfers completed their graded championships over the weekend of Saturday 25 and Sunday 26 May, the competitions being single stroke on each day and rounds 3 and 4 for the championships. Appreciation to the sponsors of the championships, Greg Carey and Maria Carey, not only for the sponsorship but also for being present on the final day and presenting the winners with their awards.

The men’s championships was a close tussle with a few players in contention going to the final round. Hamish Adam held off the field to claim his first club championship and also claimed the junior club championship at the same time.

Gross winners down the line were Mike McAuliffe in B grade and Rod Paye in C grade. Matt Burgess claimed the best overall nett with David Reeves taking nett A grade, Trevor Wren nett B Grade and Mark Richards nett C grade,

Club champion, Hamish Adam also was named junior golfer champion for the year as well. Darrell Boekholt closed out the men’s awards after he was named Vet’s champion for the year.

The ladies champion for the year is Lisa Stuart after she held out the field for the win. Lisa’ game is always very steady and this no doubt helped in securing the win. Nikki Waterworth claimed the overall nett event for the four rounds of golf. Division 2 winner was Neta Thouard and Div 3 winner went to Linda Kelly. Last award went to Mandy Benussi, lady Vets for a best nett score.

A single event on both days was also held in conjunction with the championships. Saturday’s single stroke event was sponsored by Chris Fittock Plumbing and we thank him for the day. Men’s winner on the day was Matt Waterworth with a nett 72, just holding out Hamish Adam, runner up on nett 73. Matt Burgess with nett 74 and Scott Constable on nett 76 featured in the run down.

The ladies’ event was won by Lyn Ludlow after a count back with Racheal Hendry, both players on nett 75. Racheal settled for runner up. Neta Thouard on nett 76 and Nikki Waterworth on nett 77 featured in the run down.

Sunday’s single stroke event was sponsored by Alan Kerr and Dale Minchenton and we thank them for the day. Leading the way for the ladies was Nikki Waterworth with best ladies’ score on the day to take the winner’s prize with Linda Kelly having a good round to claim runner up. Neta Thouard and Lisa Stuart featured in the run down for the ladies.

The men’s event saw good scores from Greg Carey and Barry Hughes, both with nett 71. Greg, who sponsored the club championships, let the prizes go down the line and Barry was very thankful for that as he was awarded the winning prize. Runner up went to Richard Reardon with a nett 72 and a handful of players received a voucher in the run down which went to around nett 75.

A final note to thank Trish Fittock for her hard work in catering for the days of golf. The sausage sizzle and after matchsnacks were greatly appreciated by all.

Now that the singles championships are finalised, other championships later in the year include men’s and ladies’ foursomes as well as mixed foursomes- something to look forward to in the future.

Next Saturday, June 1 is the next monthly medal on the programmme. As usual, go online to secure your tee time for the event. The sponsor for the day is Anderson’s Carpets.

30 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Results Sat 8 Jun 2024

Stanthorpe golfers had the rerun of the monthly medal on Saturday 8 June after the previous week was washed out with heavy rain. This time, there was no rain but everyone who played noticed the cold.

Results Sat 1 Jun 2024

Stanthorpe golfers were to play the June monthly medal last Saturday 1 June and with an overcast sky and the threat of rain during the day, not all nominated players turned out for the day. For those

Results Sat 18 May 2024

Golfers at Stanthorpe played a stroke round on Saturday 18 May, the day also being the second round of four for the club championships. Appreciation to Lisa and David Stuart who sponsored the day and


bottom of page