top of page
  • iStanGolf

Results Sat 22 Sun 23 Aug 2020

Two days of golf last weekend at Stanthorpe with a single event on Saturday and the club foursomes championships on Sunday.

The single event was a stroke round and was kindly sponsored by Michael Lane of Amcal Pharmacy and we thank him for his support.

On a day which included some wind, some chill, some rain and some sleet, the majority of the field persevered and completed the round. A few found the warmth of the fire in the clubhouse more to their liking.

Tom Fittock collected the top prize after a countback with Scott Constable, both players on nett 72. Scott settled for the best gross score on the day, 73 for the round while Tom managed to have his handicap lowered yet again. Keith Jones had the runner up score of nett 74 on the day.

Darryl Boekholt, Mark Hendry and Richard Reardon were awarded prizes in the run down. Special NA(R)GA award went to Max Hunter who had a score the Brisbane Lions would be proud to have.

The ladies stroke event was won by Lyn Ludlow after returning a nett 76. Trish Fittock was runner up with nett 81 and Margie Locke collected a run down prize for the ladies.

Sunday was the men’s and ladies’ foursomes championships. Played on a fairly cold day and over 27 holes, this alternate shot format always brings out the best in all the teams. The championships were sponsored by the Club.

The men’s A division needed a play off which resulted in a win to David Burgess and Matt Burgess. Consolation to the other team of Scott Constable and Wes Smith on missing first prize but their score was good enough to collect best nett on the day.

B division resulted in a win to the team of Keith Jones and Ian Pickering who outlasted the rest of the field in their section.

The ladies’ event was won by Nikki Waterworth and Lyn Ludlow with best nett going to Helen Jones and Lorraine Evans. Congratulations to all players who competed on the day, especially in the cold wind.

Next Saturday is a medley 4BBB stableford with a shot gun start at 11.45 am. Sponsor for the is Jamworks Gourmet Food. Make sure your names are listed on the time sheet and check in early to allow the starter to allocate starting tee positions.

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

December monthly medal time for Stanthorpe golfers with players competing for the honours with the day sponsored by club members, Eric Ree and Santo Cavallaro and we thank them for the day. The men’s

Winners of the 4bbb Stableford Matt Burgess and Barry Jones with 49 points. Runner up on c/b Brendon Barker and Jarrod Irwin with 44 points. No 3 pin Tod Beckett No 12 pin Rod Werner No 17 pin Brendon

Stanthorpe golfers played a single stableford on Saturday 18 November, the day sponsored by club members, Kev Rowling and Rod Werner, and we thank them for putting on the prizes for the day’s competit

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page