top of page
  • iStanGolf

Results Sat 21 Nov 2020

Play for the Peirce Trophy, a mixed 4BBB stableford, was the main event last Saturday at Stanthorpe. Unfortunately, Bob Peirce and his wife were not able to travel down from Toowoomba, but we do thank him again for sponsoring this mixed event.

With a good number of teams in the field, it was expected that a close contest would be in order. However, the team of greenkeeper, Bill Pyne, and his partner, Kay Webb, took early control of the game and never relented. Between them, they recorded 46 points to be easy winners. Bill was the mainstay of the team, starting off with a pair of pars and continued to score well through the match. Kay added to the score with a birdie for 4 points and usual pars, 3 points per hole.

The rest of the field couldn’t match the winners efforts and two teams tied for runner up. Both on 41 points, the countback went to Mark and Racheal Hendry over Keith and Helen Jones who serrled for a run down.

For the rest of the field without partners, a single stableford was played, sponsored by David , Stephen ans Warren of Favero Motors. Thanks to Stephen for the sponsorship and presenting the prizes to the winners.

For quite some time, it looked like 36 points might be a good winning score. Not until Nathan Stibbard returned with a card of 37 points was a winner found. A front nine of 19 points which included a birdie at the 6th and back in 18 points for his total and the win.

Runner up was a visitor from Tasmania, Ian Smith who returned a score of 36 points for the day, two nines of 18 points each. A much better effort from Ian this time, the previous time he played at the course he was presented with the encouragement award.

In the run down, a ball each to Paul Mills and Lyle Bryant who held out the rest of the field with 35 points.

Next Saturday is golf competition and following is the club Xmas party for the year. Names on the attendance sheet in the clubhouse would be appreciated. Notable trophy winners through the year will be mentioned as well as the naming of the winners of the ‘Golfer of the Year’. Players earn points for consistent appearance and performance over all single events for the year, the player with most points being declared the winner in both men’s and ladies’ divisions. The men’s golfer of the year is sponsored by Rossow Fuels and the ladies’ event is sponsored by Gracious Giving. The club thank both sponsors for again sponsoring this event.

Play on the day is a 4BBB stableford, the Dealaney Family golf day, sponsored by the Delaney family. Play will get underway with a shotgun start at 11.45am with players registered by 10.25am.

27 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

December monthly medal time for Stanthorpe golfers with players competing for the honours with the day sponsored by club members, Eric Ree and Santo Cavallaro and we thank them for the day. The men’s

Winners of the 4bbb Stableford Matt Burgess and Barry Jones with 49 points. Runner up on c/b Brendon Barker and Jarrod Irwin with 44 points. No 3 pin Tod Beckett No 12 pin Rod Werner No 17 pin Brendon

Stanthorpe golfers played a single stableford on Saturday 18 November, the day sponsored by club members, Kev Rowling and Rod Werner, and we thank them for putting on the prizes for the day’s competit

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page